Keeping Your Child Safe

SIMON LANGTON GIRLS’ GRAMMAR SCHOOL SAFEGUARDING STATEMENT 2016-2017

At SLGGS, the safety of all students is paramount. Safeguarding means:

  • Protecting children from maltreatment
  • Preventing impairment of children’s health or development
  • Ensuring that children are growing up in circumstances consistent with the provision of safe and effective care
  • Taking action to enable all children and young people to have the best outcome

Safeguarding includes child protection, health care plans, health and safety, site security, safety on school trips, anti-bullying work, online safety and much more.

We believe that pupils have a right to learn in a supportive, caring and safe environment which includes the right to protection from all types of abuse; where staff are vigilant for signs of any pupil in distress and are confident about applying safeguarding processes to avert and alleviate any such problems.

Safeguarding is about ensuring that everyone is safe from harm – safe from bullying, safe from people who could abuse, safe from discrimination or harassment – and that we all feel safe in our environment.

If you are ever concerned about the safety or well‐being of someone at our school please talk to one of the school’s Designated Safeguarding Lead s (DSLs).

The school’s Safeguarding team consists of: Mr Rob Green (Deputy Headteacher and designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL)) , Mrs Lisa Bramwell (KS5 Learning Manager), Mrs Lorraine Young (KS4 Learning Manager), Mrs Sorcha Jull (KS3 Learning Manager), Mrs Jane Robinson (Headteacher) and Mrs Rachel Watmore (Head of PSHE). All of these staff have received appropriate safeguarding training via KCC in the last two years.

The school adheres to the following DFE (and other) safeguarding documents:

  • Working Together to Safeguard Children 2015
  • Keeping Children Safe in Education 2016
  • Guidance for Safer Working Practice for Adults who Work with Children and Young People in Education Settings” - Safer Recruitment Consortium, October 2015

In addition to national and local guidance the school has its own safeguarding documents which are reviewed regularly and are available through the school website or on request to the school.

All staff receive annual Child Protection and Safeguarding update training and are aware of the procedures for passing on concerns within school. If any members of the school or local community have concerns about the welfare of a child in the school, please pass them on to the School Safeguarding Team.

How you can help:

Students

  • Children and young people (pupils) have a responsibility to:
  • Contribute to the development of school safeguarding policies
  • Read and adhere to (at a level appropriate to their age and ability) the schools safeguarding policies and procedures
  • Seek help from a trusted adult if things go wrong, and support others that may be experiencing safeguarding concerns
  • Develop and take responsibility (at a level that is appropriate to their individual age, ability and vulnerabilities) for keeping themselves and others safe, including online

Parents and Carers

  • Parents/carers have a responsibility to:
  • Read the relevant school/policies and procedures, encouraging their children to adhere to them, and adhering to them themselves where appropriate
  • Discuss safeguarding issues with their children, support the school in their safeguarding approaches, and reinforce appropriate safe behaviours at home
  • Identify changes in behaviour which could indicate that their child is at risk of harm online
  • Seek help and support from the school, or other appropriate agencies, if they or their child encounters any safeguarding concern
  • Contribute to the development of the schools safeguarding policies

SUPPORT FOR PUPILS

Young Minds: www.youngminds.org.uk

NSPCC: www.nspcc.org.uk

ChildLine: www.childline.org.uk

Papyrus: www.papyrus-uk.org

The Mix: www.themix.org.uk

 

SUPPORT FOR ADULTS

Crime Stoppers: www.crimestoppers-uk.org

Victim Support: www.victimsupport.org.uk

Kidscape: www.kidscape.org.uk

The Samaritans: www.samaritans.org

Family Lives: www.familylives.org.uk

Mind: www.mind.org.uk

MOSAC: www.mosac.org.uk

Action Fraud: www.actionfraud.police.uk

NAPAC (National Association for People Abused in Childhood): www.napac.org.uk

SUPPORT FOR LEARNING DISABILITIES

Mencap: www.mencap.org.uk

Respond: www.respond.org.uk

DOMESTIC ABUSE

Refuge: www.refuge.org.uk

Women’s Aid: www.womensaid.org.uk

Men’s Advice Line: www.mensadviceline.org.uk

Mankind: www.mankindcounselling.org.uk

HONOUR BASED VIOLENCE

Forced Marriage Unit: https://www.gov.uk/guidance/forced-marriage

SEXUAL ABUSE AND CSE

Stop it Now!: www.stopitnow.org.uk

Parents Protect: www.parentsprotect.co.uk

Marie Collins Foundation: www.mariecollinsfoundation.org.uk

CEOP: www.ceop.police.uk

Internet Watch Foundation (IWF): www.iwf.org.uk

Lucy Faithfull Foundation: www.lucyfaithfull.org.uk

RADICALISATION AND HATE

Educate against Hate: www.educateagainsthate.com

True Vision: www.report-it.org.uk

Counter Terrorism Internet Referral Unit: www.gov.uk/report-terrorism